Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT)

  • The Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) is a standardized test designed to measure learned reasoning and problem­ solving skills in three different areas: verbal, quantitative, and nonverbal. These abilities, acquired both in and out of school, are important because children use them on a daily basis to learn and solve problems. It is important to note that the CogAT is neither an intelligence test nor an achievement test. It measures developed rather than innate abilities.

    Sample tasks include:

    • Comprehending problem situations
    • Detecting similarities and differences
    • Making inferences
    • Make deductions
    • Classifying and categorize objects, events, and other stimuli
    • Creating and adapt problem-solving strategies
    • Using familiar concepts and skills in new contexts


    The CogAT is given to students in third and fifth grade. Any 4th, 6th, and 7th grade students new to the district will also be administered the CogAT in their first year. 




    CogAT Frequently Asked Questions

     CogAT Website